Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
November 5 2014 3 05 /11 /November /2014 20:38

"The Petticoat Detective" by Margaret Brownley is published by Shiloh Run press. It is the first book in the new series "Uncover Ladies".

Jennifer Layne is fairly used to odd disguises, since she is a Pinkerton detective, but posing as a "loose" lady in Miss Lillian's house and parlor that sells everything from boots to singing lessons certainly takes the cake. As she tries to juggle holding onto her morals while tracking down the infamous Gunnysack Bandit, the last thing she needs on her hands is a handsome former Texas Ranger who happens to be a prime suspect for a recent murder at the parlor.

Tom Colton just wants to clear his brother's name. He wants to get back and take care of his dead brother's son. He wants to stay on the right side of the law and lead a quiet, upright life. So having a sweet parlor girl around isn't helping anything.

This book was interesting, but I honestly didn't like it as much as I did her previous book, "Gunpowder Tea".  The characters didn't seem to have as much chemistry or tension, but the plot was unique, at least. I probably wouldn't read it again, but I would continue to read others books by Margaret Brownley, because I've seen that she can write better. So if this is your first book by her, I'd steer clear and check out "Gunpowder Tea" instead.

Thank you to Shiloh Run press and Net Galley for providing me with an advanced copy of this book to read and review. All opinions are my own; I was not required to give a positive review.

Share this post
Repost0

comments

Overview

  • : Ramblings
  • : This is just a blog I put together for myself. I am very pleased with the Over blog website. They make this process so easy.
  • Contact

Check out my other blog here:  link

Search

I review for BookSneeze®

Categories