Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
August 26 2016 5 26 /08 /August /2016 01:17

 

    She Walks in Power is the first book in a new medieval romance series called "Protectors of the Spear" by MaryLu Tyndall.  I have been eagerly awaiting this new release and I am so pleased that it is finally here! Fans of Tyndall may worry that this isn't a pirate book like most of her others, but I can assure you that it is still phenomenal.  Also, there seems to be quite the trend recently with young adult red-headed heroines in the Christian fiction market.  Authors including Jody Hedlund, Melanie Dickerson, and now MaryLu Tyndall have all recently released novels with this in common, but again, I can assure you that this book is still worth the read; it stands out among the rest and is in fact my favorite of the three.

 

     The novel centers around a girl of noble birth who is hiding out in the woods since an assassination plot on her life almost a decade before the book begins.  She is a follower of Christ and has been gifted with a spirit of discernment, which may be disconcerting for some readers, but I believe in it and loved to see it interwoven into current fiction.  Anyway, this girl, Alexa, was entrusted by her mother with the spearhead that pierced Christ's body to ensure he was dead on the cross.  This has been passed down through the ages in the story, and is now protected by Alexa.  Alexa is also a Robin Hood type figure, who hunts in the forest where she lives for food for nearby villagers.  She also tries to keep crime low and morale high.

 

     Ronar is a local knight who happens to be traipsing through Alexa's forest one day.  Naturally, she attacks him, and naturally, he fights back and tries to catch her before realizing that she is a woman.  This catches both of them off guard: Ronar isn't used to being ambushed, and Alexa's not used to being caught.  The story that ensues from this meeting follows the two as they try to follow God, defeat evil, and per the series title, protect the spear.

 

     I have been a fan of MaryLu's writing for many years now, and I must say that this is one of her best books yet.  I loved, loved, loved the spiritual aspects woven in, the characters were so fun to read about, and the plot was very unique.  The only thing that I could complain about was that the story's narration jumped to and fro from four or five different characters--some of which weren't even main characters.  It was very confusing and frustrating, but not enough to dissuade someone from reading the book over.

 

     Thank you so much to the author for providing me with a electronic copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

 

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Share this post
Repost0

comments

Overview

  • : Ramblings
  • : This is just a blog I put together for myself. I am very pleased with the Over blog website. They make this process so easy.
  • Contact

Check out my other blog here:  link

Search

I review for BookSneeze®

Categories