Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
July 21 2016 4 21 /07 /July /2016 03:46

 

     One Paris Summer by Denise Grover Swank is a stand alone book published by Blink, a division of Harper Collins publishers.  It is the first book that I've read by this author, and I thought it was a decent way to pass the time.  Blink publishing is not specifically Christian, so read with caution with books published by this publisher if you are expecting something overtly Christian.  Personally I think this book is appropriate for older teens.

 

     While many would consider a summer vacation to Paris to be amazing, Sophie Brooks does not.  You see, her dad divorced her mom and moved to Paris, leaving Sophie, her brother, and her mother in South Carolina.  Sophie's hurt and doesn't want to have anything to do with her dad, much less her soon-to-be new stepmom and stepsister Camille, the latter of which she has to share a room with.  Camille doesn't like Sophie from the start, and the two are at odds for much of the book.  Meanwhile handling her dad and new stepsister, Sophie's brother's friend comes to visit, and while Sophie has been crushing on him for years, Camille quickly takes over his interest.  And worst of all, Sophie was promised that she would be able to practice piano over the summer so that she could apply to Juilliard, but alas, there is no piano.

 

     Luckily, a friend of Camille's happens to have a grand piano that Sophie can practice on every day.  Unluckily, Camille is against anything that could benefit Sophie, including letting her date any cute friends, especially those with pianos.

 

     I thought that this was a cute teenage read, and as I previously said, I would recommend this, but probably just to older teens.  The story was cute even if cliche and the characters were a little immature.

 

     Thank you to Blink publishers and Net Galley for providing me with an electronic copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

Share this post
Repost0

comments

Overview

  • : Ramblings
  • : This is just a blog I put together for myself. I am very pleased with the Over blog website. They make this process so easy.
  • Contact

Check out my other blog here:  link

Search

I review for BookSneeze®

Categories