Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
July 30 2014 3 30 /07 /July /2014 03:49

 

Love's Awakening" by Laura Frantz is the second book in "The Ballantyne Legacy" series, the first being entitled "Love's Reckoning", and the next one which is to be released in September of 2014, is "Love's Fortune".  "Love's Awakening" was published by Revell on September 15, 2013. 

 

     One thing that I have noticed in the two or three of Laura Frantz's novels that I have read, is that she puts a lot of history into each of her books.  By "history", I mean more of what was happening in whatever time period she was currently writing in, instead of in the character's pasts, although there is that.  Her books usually last at least 400 pages, and with so much of that being history, I find it hard to read. (Even though I love history!)  Once you get started though, the characters are so real in their hurts, motives, and history that they seem like real people.  In "Love's Awakening"'s case, it is about the Underground Railroad.  Laura Frantz also comes highly recommened by other authors I follow.

 

     This book finds us with Elle Ballantyne and Jack Turlock, two young lovers whose families disagree with the match.  Ellie's family is very religious and disapproves of Jack, who does not have the best reputation.   Ellie is part of a finishing school and abolitionist family, while Jack is a student from a family suspicious of the Ballantyne family views.

 

     This is a well-written novel of history, suspense, and romance.  Thank you to Net Galley and Revell publishing for providing me with an ecopy of this book to read and review.  I was not required to write a positive review.

 

 

Share this post
Repost0

comments

Overview

  • : Ramblings
  • : This is just a blog I put together for myself. I am very pleased with the Over blog website. They make this process so easy.
  • Contact

Check out my other blog here:  link

Search

I review for BookSneeze®

Categories