Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
August 6 2014 4 06 /08 /August /2014 01:25

 

     "Rebellious Heart" by Jody Hedlund is the third book in the "Hearts of Faith" series.  This is the first book that I have read by this author, and I have to admit that I was hesitant to try it.  This turned out to be one of the best books I've read, and it completely made sense as a stand-alone.  In the end notes, I read that this book was based off the lives of John and Abigail Adams.

 

     Susanna Smith is living in a time of turmoil.  Her sister is interested in a new man in town, a Mr. Crane.  Mr. Crane's friend Benjamin Ross always comes along with Crane to visit the Smith girls.  Susanna and Benjamin soon have to chaperone  Crane and Susanna's sister, and thus begin to know one another better.  In doing so, Susanna is shocked to hear of Ben's traitorous activities, and discovered a runaway slave, and does everything in her power to help her.

 

     Benjamin Ross is a patriot, through and through, and a lawyer pleading innocent for an old social outcast of a man convicted of murder.  Benjamin finds it difficult not to fall for Susanna with all the time he spends with her, but he realizes that she is uncertain of where her loyalties lie.

 

     This book was amazing.  Honestly, I was pulled in by the characters and their personalities.  The plot was exciting and kept me on the edge of my seat as well, and I loved that it was based off the lives of John and Abigail Adams, however loosely.

 

     Thank you so much to Net Galley and Bethany House for providing me with an ecopy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review.

Share this post
Repost0

comments

Overview

  • : Ramblings
  • : This is just a blog I put together for myself. I am very pleased with the Over blog website. They make this process so easy.
  • Contact

Check out my other blog here:  link

Search

I review for BookSneeze®

Categories