Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
April 29 2015 3 29 /04 /April /2015 03:14

 

     "The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest" is the latest novel by Melanie Dickerson.  I was so excited for this twist on "Swan Lake" and "The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood" to release! I love how Melanie Dickerson weaves spiritual themes into adaptations of famous fairytales, as I've always been a reader of fairytales :).

     Odette Menkels was an orphan who pillaged through trash for food until learning to hunt.  Her uncle took her in when he returned to the Holy Roman Empire, and since then, she's poached Lord Thornbeck and the king's deer at night to feed the orphans around town.  By day, she teaches the children and attends parties, although she's not very interested in any of the local men for a husband.  As long as she can help provide for those in situations like she once was, and avoid the local forester, she is happy.

     Jorgen is the local forester, determined to catch whoever has been poaching the land, especially since his father was shot by a poacher.  He is attracted to the mysterious Odette, and helps her teach the local children.  He just can't understand why she is wary of him.  When Odette's uncle comes to financial ruin, and Odette is going to marry another man to save their fortune and provide for the local children, can Jorgen break past her barriers to show her that he loves her?

     I really enjoyed this book.  The plot had many twists and turns that once read were recognizable as being from the famous stories mentioned above, but kept me hanging.  The characters were very sweet, and the setting of medieval Germany was really neat.

     Thank you so much to Thomas Nelson for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.  I was not disappointed in the least; all opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

Share this post
Repost0

comments

Overview

  • : Ramblings
  • : This is just a blog I put together for myself. I am very pleased with the Over blog website. They make this process so easy.
  • Contact

Check out my other blog here:  link

Search

I review for BookSneeze®

Categories