Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
December 3 2014 3 03 /12 /December /2014 03:36

 

     "Love Unexpected" is the latest novel by Jody Hedlund, who recently captivated me with "Rebellious Heart".  "Love Unexpected" is the first book in her new series, "Beacons of Hope", which is published by Bethany House.

     Emma Chambers has nothing except her brother now that her steamboat sank.  She is tired of having to always depend on Ryan, even though he is family; Emma simply wants him to be free of her so he can begin his own life.  Thus, when the parson in town recommends she marry their recently-widowed rescuer from the shipwreck and take care of his two-year old son, she agrees.  Emma knows nothing about the man, except that he seems to be quiet and easy to get along with, his name is Patrick, and he is a lighthouse keeper whose wife died just days earlier.  Emma is just happy to have a home and family.

     Patrick, meanwhile, does not know what to make of having another wife, and this time one that seems somewhat interested in him, instead of distant.  Emma seems to be a good mother for his son, even if all she can cook is coffee.  She is tenderness that his first wife did not. 

     Once Patrick and Emma begin to get to know one another better, accusations and evil from Patrick's past threaten to tear apart the new family.  Will they find love in one another and faith in God enough to survive on?

     I thought that this book had a fairly interesting plot, and a harsh yet beautiful nature setting.  The characters intrigued me right off the bat, and I look forward to other books in this series.

     Thank you so much to Bethany House publishers and Net Galley for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own; I was not required to write a positive review. 

Share this post
Repost0

comments

Overview

  • : Ramblings
  • : This is just a blog I put together for myself. I am very pleased with the Over blog website. They make this process so easy.
  • Contact

Check out my other blog here:  link

Search

I review for BookSneeze®

Categories