Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
December 16 2015 3 16 /12 /December /2015 22:38

 

      I once read a novel by Colleen Coble, several years ago now, and while I hardly put it down, for some reason I never read anything else by the author. There was nothing wrong with the book; I just didn't look up anything else she had written. Recently, the Thomas Nelson and Zondervan Fiction Guild sent me a two-novella combo by Colleen Cobke called "All Is Calm, All Is Bright". I was glad for another opportunity to try out this author, and had been eyeing this collection anyway. (I'm going to take a moment here to just stop and marvel over how the Fiction Guild reads my mind and sends me exactly what I've been wanting to read. I'm so amazed!)

     This book has two stories, as I've mentioned, and they are not related to each other, but I get the impression that they are related to some of her other series. They are packaged as a Christmas combo, and while there is nothing distinctly Christmassy about either of them aside from the mention of them being set in and around December, I liked that they grabbed by interest right away, and were short enough to read in one sitting. This aspect of it is perfect for the holiday season, when we may not have enough time to read a full novel, but have an afternoon to read a novella. Both of these stories are action-packed mysteries, and they had significant amounts of drama which was right on the line of being over-dramatic, since the stories were so short, but they were still good. The characters were solid and the plot well thought out and executed in such a tight amount of pages, and the Christmas setting was nice to read about this time of year. I would recommend reading this book this season, and perhaps considering purchasing it for someone else for Christmas.

     Thank you so much to the Thomas Nelson and Zondervan Fiction Guild for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review. All opinions are my own.

 

Bonus Giveaway on Facebook! Click here: https://www.facebook.com/tnzfiction/app/385055231574188/

Share this post
Repost0

comments

Overview

  • : Ramblings
  • : This is just a blog I put together for myself. I am very pleased with the Over blog website. They make this process so easy.
  • Contact

Check out my other blog here:  link

Search

I review for BookSneeze®

Categories